Assigning Permissions

A guide on how to assign employees to a permission profile in Plecto.

Last updated: Oct. 17, 2022

Permission and subscription requirements

To create and manage permission profiles, you need to be subscribed to Plecto's Large or Enterprise plan and have full admin access. Visit our pricing page for more information.

If you are a Global Admin or have full admin access to all features, you can assign or change your employees' permission profiles in Plecto. Due to security reasons, you cannot change your own permission profile, nor can you edit the permission profile you are assigned.

  1. Go to Organization > Permissions and open a permission profile.
  2. Click on the Assigned employees tab.
  3. Click the Manage employees button – a list of employees will appear on the right side. Only employees with login access are listed. Read Introduction to Employees.
Permissions - Global Admin - Assign Employees - Before

4. Select the employees you want to assign to this permission profile and click Save.

Permissions - Employee Selector

You can now see all the employees you assigned to this permission profile. Please note that you cannot change your own permission profile. Therefore, you will not see the Actions button in your row.

Permissions - Global Admin - Assign Employees - After

If you click the Manage employees button and see on the list that some employees are already selected, it means that they are already assigned to this permission profile.

To remove employees from a permission profile, deselect them from the list and click Save.

  • The deselected employees will be removed from this permission profile and reassigned to the default permission profile in your organization. To see which is the default profile in your organization, go to Organization > Permissions and look for the Default label.
  • To remove employees from the default permission profile, you will have to open another permission profile and assign your employees to it.
Reassign and remove at once

When you open a permission profile, you can assign new and remove currently assigned employees with one action. Click the Manage employees button and select / deselect employees from the list. Those added will be reassigned to the permission profile in question; those deselected will be assigned to your organization's default permission profile.

Was this article helpful?

Please leave a comment to help us improve.